Highbush Blueberries

I went to Nopalito Nursery in Ventura. They are this great locally owned nursery that carries drought tolerant native plants.

I love that.

What I love even more is that they had blueberry plants 2 for 1 in December.

So I bought myself 8 blueberry plants for $60.

Turns out you need more than one type of blueberry if you actually want any fruit off of them.  Not sure if this is all blueberries or just the Highbush kind that I bought (Vaccinium sp.).  I bought 3 varietals.   “Misty“, “Sunshine Blue“,  and “Jubilee

Can’t wait.  I already learned that I probably planted them too close together. I am banking on that they are often grown in patio pots

I made little hand painted rocks so I know who is who.  I used “black gold” (compost) for the soil mixture and mulched with redwood/cyprus debris from under those trees to keep pH low.

Time will reveal the color of my thumb.

Categories: Garden | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

