Plantlets from seeds

I went a bit overboard this year on gardening.  I decided to save planning for next year and just grow stuff and see what happens.  I am prepared for a learning curve. I will just take whatever happens as information.

I planted seeds….lots of them. I figured maybe 50-70% would grow.

seeds

A couple of weeks later things are looking really good.

20120402-195353.jpg

Another week later, I realize every seed is a very happy plant.

20120402-194522.jpg

I didn’t expect so many to grow.

To make matters worse I bought some little plantlets  from the local nursery.  Two boxes worth to be exact to make up for what I though what wouldn’t grow, but did. About 25-30 plants actually. I am in much deeper than I intended.

So I gave some plants to friends.

Still, I have too many.  I planted them all anyway. I had flowers developing in plants that are still in their little 6 packs!

So as of last weekend (April 21), all plants are either in the ground or in the pot they will stay in all summer.

On Sunday night, it was getting dark and I was running around plopping tomato plants and peppers in every remaining garden spot I could find. With only 20 minutes of light left and no more garden space, I still had 12 tomato plants in their starter packs to be planted. I found a spot that we use for a work area and the ground is probably too rich with old horse manure and they are planted too dense to grow well.  In the ground they went anyway. I can pull the ones that seem like they will fall behind.

This is my surprise garden area….mostly because it was “Surprise, there was not a garden here 20 minutes ago and now  there it is” .  Also it will be both a surprise if any of them grow and since I mixed up the tags for these plants it will be a surprise to what kind of tomatoes they are ( I have 3 kinds from seeds).

Such rogue gardening.

Categories: Garden | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

